Today 3 Jewish events from all over the world. Enjoy each of them and have an extraordinarily good Sunday.

***

Event 1

International Yiddish Event
Live Online!
Sholem Aleichem From Every Continent!
(IN YIDDISH ONLY)

When he passed away in 1916, Sholem Aleichem, the most beloved Yiddish writer of all time, requested in his will that his family and friends mark his yortsayt
with readings from his works. “Better to be remembered with laughter,
than not at all,” he said.

This year’s Zoom craze has given us a special opportunity to hear
both words and song:

The Congress for Jewish Culture and
The California Institute for Yiddish Culture and Language
With the participation of international Yiddish stars:

  • Mike Burstyn (Los Angeles)
  • Mendy Cahan (Tel Aviv)
  • Raphe Crystal (Bronx)
  • Friends from the Dora Wasserman Yiddish Theatre (Montreal)
  • Elisa Gray and Tomi Kalinski (Melbourne)
  • Lea Koenig (Tel Aviv)
  • Miwa Kogure and Wataru Ohkuma (Tokyo)
  • Caely-Jo Levy (Cape Town)
  • Sasha Lurje (Berlin)
  • Eleanor Reissa (New York)
  • Miryem-Khaye Seigel (Brooklyn)
  • Yelena Shmulenson (New York)
  • Zisl Slepovitch (Brooklyn)
  • Viver com Yiddish (Rio de Janeiro)

An ALL-YIDDISH program with an international lineup of guests from every inhabited continent (negotiations with the last Yiddish-speaking king penguin in Antarctica fell through).

Sunday 24 May 2020

11 AM San Diego/Los Angeles

2 PM New York
1 PM Mexico City

8 PM París
9 PM Tel Aviv

Broadcast here on Facebook Live on the event page.

צום 104טן יאָרצײַט פֿונעם ייִדיש־מײַסטער שלום־עליכם, וועלן מיר אַדורכפֿירן
אַן אָנלײַן־פּראָגראַם און, ווי ער האָט געבעטן אין זײַן צוואָה,
לייענען פֿון עטלעכע פֿריילעכע דערציילונגען זײַנע און אים דערמאָנען
צום גוטן מיט געלעכטער. ספּעציעלע געסט פֿון אַרום דער וועלט:
אויסטראַליע, בראַזיל, ישׂראל, די פֿאַראיינקטע שטאַטן, און נאָך!א

דעם זונטיק, דעם 24סטן מײַ 2020,
אַ2 אַ זייגער ניו־יאָרקער צײַט אויף “פֿייסבוך־לײַוו2 אַ זייגער ניו יאָרק צײַט אויף פֿייסבוך־לײַװ

***

Event 2

Join us for our “Idishe Peña”!
Log in and experience Mexican Yiddish heritage!

The Idishe Shtub, Jewish Sports Center in Mexico, and Justo Sierra Historical Synagogue, invite you to a virtual fiesta celebrating Yiddish poetry, literature, music, and press made in Mexico in the last 100 years.

International Yiddish artists and members of the community will also fly to South America, for a taster of tango and bossa nova with a “yiddishn tam”.

The fiesta will be transmitted via Facebook Live on our Facebook pages:

facebook.com/CDI-DeporVida
facebook.com/ShtubMx
Sinagoga Histórica Justo Sierra 71

** The event will be mainly in Yiddish with Spanish translation **

Sunday 24 May 2020

5:30 PM Ciudad de México
3:30 PM San Diego/Los Angeles
6:30 PM Nueva York
10:30 PM París
11:30 PM Tel Aviv

***

Event 3

“La Hora Nacional” in México will be filled with Sephardic poetry and music, with the presence of Myriam Moscona and Grupo Sefarad

La Hora Nacional, under the leadership of the actress and broadcaster, Marisol Gasé, and the writer and cultural journalist, Pepe Gordon, this Sunday will be filled with Sephardic culture, with the presence of our beloved Myriam Moscona, journalist, novelist and Mexican poet in Judeo-Espanyol and Spanish, as well as the Sefarad Group, Judeo-Spanish music and poetry, who are joined by a love for Sephardic culture.

Sunday 24 May 2020

10 PM Mexico City
8 PM San Diego/Los Angeles
11 PM New York
3 AM Paris (Monday)
4 AM Tel Aviv (Monday)

For all the radio stations in Mexico, or through the YouTube channel, click here.